RIBA Norfolk

The Norfolk and Norwich Association of Architects was formed in 1921. Now called RIBA Norfolk, it is the Norfolk branch of the RIBA and supports their vision. RIBA Norfolk champions local architecture through talks, seminars, building visits, networking and other events; raises the quality of design and construction through collaboration, knowledge-sharing and peer review, and provides sign-posting and a starting point for those looking to engage with local architects.

The Norfolk Association of Architects’ Awards
The Norfolk Association of Architects’ Awards were an annual event over many decades that recognised the contribution of Norfolk architects and builders, large and small, from extensions, to refurbishments, large scale housing developments, schools and conservation led projects.

For many years the awards were known as The Craftsmanship Awards and were jointly organised with the NAJCC and the National Federation of Builders (NFB) with the focus of the DCA’s on the contribution of craftsmanship on the realised design.

In recent years the awards evolved to include design as a central tenet, acknowledging the direct relationship between intention (design) and implementation (craftsmanship).

The awards are a celebration of projects throughout Norfolk, which positively affect the built environment. They are also a means for builders, architects, and communities to be recognised in a wider setting.

The awards aim to have a long lasting and positive impact on the region through recognition of best practice and exemplary schemes that shape future development for the benefit of all.


The Norwich Society

The Norwich Society was first formed in 1923 and its mission is caring for this city’s beauty and history: The Norwich Society acts as a passionate custodian and champion of the built environment and public spaces within the City boundaries.

Over the years, the Society has worked hard to recognise and stimulate interest in the built environment and the design awards have played a key role in this important feature of city life.

The Norwich Society Awards History

The biennial design awards commenced in 2003, with the intention that the Society should take the initiative to encourage and highlight the best of contemporary architecture and the built environment within the City boundary. The aim of the Society was to generate interest, promote critical assessment and publicise the variety of buildings that make up the city scene.

The judging criteria for the nominated projects have remained the same throughout the years. Judges look for originality of design and how well a project fits into its context and how it enhances its local environment, often a sensitive historic setting. Building scale, innovative use of materials, quality of workmanship and environmental impact are also key considerations. For buildings to be relevant to their community, they must be adaptable for present and future requirements.

The first award in 2003 was given to the reconfiguration of Loose’s Cookshop in Orford Place. From that year until 2017 the Design Awards continued biennially, becoming bigger and more prestigious events.


Norwich University of the Arts

Norwich University of the Arts (NUA) has established itself in arts, design and media education for more than 175 years. But while our history can be traced back to 1845, our outlook is forward-thinking.

From a city centre campus that boasts cutting-edge facilities, to an approach to teaching which saw us awarded Gold under the Teaching Excellence Framework and ranked 10th in the UK for teaching quality by The Times and The Sunday Times Good University Guide 2022, our reputation for excellence is well-earned.